Comfy Schools Senior Football

The combined vocational school team of Elphin and Roscommon took on their first senior match of the season against Roscommon CBS last Tuesday in the Roscommon secondary schools senior football championship sponsored by Comfy Caf. The Elphin men made up most of the team with thirteen players starting. The first half went reasonably well with 4 points put up on the board by Gerry Cregg, Donal Brady, Finbar McDermott and Daniel Marron with great passing and assists by Jack ODonnell and Shane Killoran. The CBS were a strong side and were 2 points up at half time. Roscommon CBS made a few changes to the side at half time. They made the most of the wind and ran away with the game putting up 6 unanswered points. But credit must be given to John Sweeney and Paul Morris for great displays in the back line. Austin Kielty got a goal in the dying minutes along with a Gerard McDermottroe point but Roscommon CBS ran out convincing winners on a score line of 2-12 to 1-5.

By Cathal Brady.

Read More

Talk to Leaving Certs

On Friday 3rd September, David Morris a past pupil of Elphin Community College spoke to the Leaving Certificate class about his career path.  David who qualified as a Physiotherapist has been accepted to the post graduate medical course in University of Limerick.

We would like to thank David for speaking to us and wish him all the best in his studies.  We would also like to thank Ms. Boland for organising this event.

Read More

Bishop Hodson Prize 2010

Pictured is Dermot McGrath collecting the Bishop Hodson Prize for best Leaving Cert Results for 2010 in Elphin Community College from Ms. Lee, Principal. Also pictured is his proud father Patsy.

Read More

Transition Years travel to Glendalough

Transition Year students  travelled to Glendalough on Monday morning as part of a fact finding trip for this term. They gathered information for a number of modules taking place in the school over the coming weeks. The trip also included a 22km hike as part of their outdoor pursuits programme for the year.

Read More

Welcome Back!

We would like to welcome back all our students and staff to the new school year. In particular a special word of welcome to our incoming First Years. We hope you enjoy your experience with us.

Read More



Following a very successful year in 2009/2010 the annual awards ceremony took place on Wednesday afternoon 2nd June 2010.  Students and staff packed the lobby in the new building.  An atmosphere of excitement and anticipation prevailed.

Students received Gold, Silver and Bronze Merit Awards for outstanding achievement during the school year.

Student of the year was awarded to the following:-

1st year   -  Katie Killoran and Lucas Macken

2nd year   -  Muireann Hennessy and Kevin Rattigan

3 G         -  Anna Higgins and Gerard Mc Dermotroe

3 S            -  Siobhan Coll and Shane Killoran

Pre Leaving Certificate  – Aisling Scahill and Gerry Cregg

Leaving Certificate  -   Orla Conroy, Sandra Fox and David Kelleher

Most Improved Student:-

Senior was awarded to Peter Diffley

Junior was awarded to Patrick Ryan

Sports Awards:

Junior was awarded to Anna Higgins and Cathal Brady

Senior was awarded to Claire Cregg and Colm Nerney

Overall Sports Star of the year went to Pooky Mitchell

Awards were given to for the highest attendance in each year group.

The John Morkan Memorial Prize for the best Junior Certificate results 2009 went to Kieran Mc Grath.

The Liam Staunton Memorial Prize for the highest result in Junior Certificate Science 2009 went to Ieuan Weston

The Principal extended good wishes to all present for an enjoyable summer break and wished the Junior Certificate and Leaving Certificate students Good Luck in the upcoming state examinations.

Read More

Lip Dub Hits 1700

Lip Dub Hits 1000

The Lip Dub video organized by the Transition year students in the school has already had over a 1700 hits on youtube and on vimeo. Check it out on the school website or search under elphin lip dub.


Read More